carbs leaking...

If it's broken or just needs tweaked

Moderators: Volker_P, tidd650

ronin

carbs leaking...

Postby ronin » Tue Sep 20, 2011 7:44 pm

Anyone want to shed some light on this one? What's the best way to troubleshoot which carb is failing? Is there a way? Or do I just need to fix em all? This is the first time I've had to deal with four cabs, I know a decent amount, but I'm no expert. It looks like they're all connected.

Let me start from the beginning, bought it cheap from a Harley dealership. I walked in and said you guys cant want that bike here, he agreed. I gave him several hundred dollars and rode off on the bike. Yea, I was getting a little loss of compression, nothing 20 bucks and a new set of exhaust gaskets couldn't fix. Overall this bike was in pretty darn good shape for being 30 yrs old. Someone obviously took really good care of it until they decided to trade it in for a Harley. And, just in case you're wondering, the guy that traded it in, rode it in, not trailered it. This was in April, I've been riding the hell out of it ever since without a single issue. Okay, I had to replace the battery, big deal.

So Labor day weekend I took this girl out for a ride, ran great. The next day when I went to go to work, I started it up, let it idle to warm up (it is old), and I started to smell fuel. Sure enough, it was dripping from the carb. Not pouring out, but definitely leaking. I stood the bike up, it stopped. I rode it around the neighborhood to see if maybe it was just something clogging one of the jets or something. Still seemed to run fine, but again when I put it on the kickstand it started to leak again.